• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

My BUDGET 451 build... finally

HT413

Semi Pro Bowler
Local time
11:46 AM
Reaction score
Well, here goes nothing. So I've been hoarding parts and hunting deals for about 2 years and I'm finally ready to start building a motor.

The plan: street motor that can do some track duty a few times a year without missing a beat. I was originally planning a 440 build, but got a nice deal on a 400/451 block and rotating assembly, so that's where I'm headed.

The car: my trusty 69 belvedere mini tubbed with 4 link, and somewhat lightened with some fiberglass goodies. 727, 8-3/4 with 4.10 sure grip.

The engine: Picked up a fully machined 400 that was bored 30 over, decked, line honed with arp main studs. Also picked up a balanced rotating assembly with machined 440 forged crank, prepped LY rods resized with arp bolts and forged Ross 99494 pistons that the block was already machined for. It's more than I need, but I got a great deal and it should provide lots of room for growth. Biggest concern I have here is compression ratio, which I won't know until I mock it up and find out where the deck is.

Heads: I purchased a set of 440 source heads a while back and stashed a set of ductile iron adjustable rockers about 2 years ago.

Between the parts I've stockpiled and the pieces I can use from the 413 currently in the car, I pretty much only need cam and valve gear, intake and headers.

Intake, carb : I was thinking about the RPM intake and using my holley 750 vac secondary for now.

As far as cam, I just put my combo into the comp cam 'camquest' software and they recommend the XE285HL cam, which is exactly what my buddy Kenny suggested as well. What do you guys think?