• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Need help figuring compression ratio..

TruckManiaMike

Local time
3:56 AM
Reaction score
hello again everybody! Trying to find compression ratio for my 440 to find the right cam to throw in it and I am befuddled. I thought I got all the parameters dialed in the calculator but must be wrong. I come up with a CR of 8.14:1 which should be 119.6psi but I compression tested the cylinder at 170psi. I have TRW l2388 flat top pistons with 1.926 CH and cylinders bored 30 over. Stock 906 heads should be 88-93cc.

I want to upgrade heads to aluminum Edelbrock but unsure what cc chamber to get and which cam to go with it for my street rod truck. Was thinking comp cams .484 nostalgia cam, comp website recommended 9.5:1 compression but does that matter? I’m new to all this so please learn me something!!

IMG_4538.png

.125 Deck Clearance would be 1/8" down in the hole at TDC.
It must be higher up based on your results (but if you haven't measured the heads I would use the higher 93 cc number for the head volume)

I looked up the pistons to be an ultra low compression piston. Just roughly tried to measure CH with pistons out of motor from where the piston rings stopped scarring the motor to deck subtracted by the top of rings to top of piston and got .150 CH which dropped CR to 7.8:1….read in another forum .150CH Is accurate for my pistons

Well then let's have a look

They would need to be milled a bunch to essentially turn them into closed chamber heads.
I cut mine .055" and got about 13 CC reduction.
Intake was milled .062 otherwise the intake wouldn't fit.

I'd get the smallest chamber they offer.