• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Have any of you ever opened a car shop or resto shop from scratch?

SteveSS

Local time
3:42 AM
Reaction score
I've been thinking about it. I'm a hack mechanic but I figured on hiring talent. I found a cool place in town for $700K and another one way out of town. 40 acres with an insulated and air-conditioned shop. My thought process is that a resto shop doesn't rely on foot traffic. Most cars would be in there for months. The shop building was built and used for growing marijuana and all the equipment for that is still there. There's that as a side business. 40 acres and shop and big RV trailer for $235K. I guess the only problem would be getting mechanics willing to live 45 miles from CS. It kind of sounds like Hooovies Garage Farm but on a smaller scale. Who knows maybe I'll have a YouTube show.

Have any of you tried this before and can you offer up some helpful advice?

Maybe we'll put some trailers out for you guys too. This is 45 miles east so it's all high prairie not pretty green mountains.

Last edited:
I mean starting a shop from scratch not the $700 part. So basically no lifts, paint booths or tire machines. Especially no employees yet. I have one guy that helps with my collection but he's strictly a guy that comes and works for a day or two each week. The $700K shop can be leased but they want a 3-year lease on it.

Last edited:
I got the idea from a high roller here in town his rates are $100/hr and his normal bill per car is $100,000. From what I understand $100/hour is pretty cheap.

I mean a single guy like me could build a little apartment inside the shop.

Last edited: