• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Salvaging Uni-body parts for a 69 Charger restoration

mopar4don

Local time
7:34 PM
Reaction score
This is my first project thread, and thought I would share it with everyone.
What I have is a 69 Coronet 4 door parts car, that I bought with the idea of using some of the uni-body parts, for my 69 Charger restoration.

P1010003.jpg

I know that my Charger needs rear frame rails, torsion bar cross-member,floor pans, trunk pan, rockers. Most of which will go into the Charger.
I know that the trunk pan is different between the Coronet and Charger, but I thought I would remove the pan with the Rear frame rails and put them into the Charger as one unit. (this way everything stays in alignment) Later I would remove the Coronet trunk pan and replace it with a Charger pan.

Anyway, I know what I want, just not sure how to get there.

The 1st thing I did was to remove both quarter panels. Sorry no pics of this, but it was a pain in the rear. (lots of spot welds) Thanks propwash for recommending Blair spot weld cutters. It works GREAT!

Here is a pic after the quarters were removed.

- - - Updated - - -

Next I started on the C pillar or rear door jams. Man figuring out how these parts come apart and the best way to get them apart is NOT easy! Oh well, now I know how.
P1010005.jpg

P1010006.jpg
Used a torch to heat up and melt out the lead in the lower corner. Then drill out and separate all of the spot-welds.

SUCCESS!!:banana::banana::banana::banana:

Attachments

• P1010004.jpg
    P1010004.jpg
    77.1 KB · Views: 1,308
  • P1010007.jpg
    P1010007.jpg
    107.4 KB · Views: 1,208
  • P1010008.jpg
    P1010008.jpg
    63.6 KB · Views: 1,087
Just buy new metal for the Charger.