• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Paint Gun And Compressor Questions

streetmachine

Local time
12:12 AM
Reaction score
I'm new to this and just wanted to hear some thoughts/opinions. Anyways, I'm just wondering what would be a good paint gun or paint guns to use with a compressor like this?

https://www.lowes.com/pd/Kobalt-QUI...e-Electric-Vertical-Air-Compressor/1001014062

What I would be paint is if I could paint a hood, tailgate, or fenders from an older Dodge Truck. I realize I may have to do it a piece at a time. Regarding that I would using a single stage paint to my repairs/touch up. The other thing I would be painting is a frame from the said truck along with the smaller pieces such as the control arms, springs, and such.

Unfortunately, I don't have 220V to my storage building currently and that upgrade is not in the cards for now. So, I'm just wondering what would be suggested regarding a paint gun or compressor? Thank you in advance.

Look at the CFM rates for the gun, then look at the CFM output of the air compressor/s, you want the compressor to exceed the gun requirements, the better the compressor output the less it will have to run. In the most basic operation, as long as the compressor exceeds the gun requirements you should be able to paint with it without too much issue.

I’m not familiar with that exact compressor, but I have the yellow Dewalt that is shown in the “similar items”. It’s a huge piece of crap.
For a gun, if that’s all you’re going to paint, just get an inexpensive Chinese set. You don’t need a Sata or Develbiss if you’re only doing a few items. I got the three gun set from TCP Global. They are great and I think that the three gun set was around a hundred bucks. Just look after them and keep them clean and they will last a long time.