• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Let's See Some Non-Fiction Car Stories

68BabyBlue

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
6:36 AM
Reaction score
Back in the 1970s, when I was an aspiring writer, I was taught that truth was often stranger than fiction, and could be less believable. The art of creating great fiction requires a blending of historically and technically correct items, with an imaginative spin to create an attention getting, entertaining piece. If the package is artfully assembled, it can produce big financial pay offs. We have just seen this to an incredible degree with the "Gray Ghost" saga.

There have been some excellent insights expressed here regarding the substance of that car's basic worth and history, and how in a sense, embellishment has diminished the actual story, but produced financial gain for the seller. Such is the nature of well marketed fictional writing. I couldn't create fiction at a high enough level to make a living as a writer per se, but I could throw a spin well enough to climb the corporate ladder back in the day.

In the context of our cars, I have found that their actual history can be more intriguing than the mainstream nonsense that often floats around them. I'm sure that many of you have some good stories. I'm going to suggest for those who feel creative, you start with the real story, than throw out a spin, if you feel inclined.

My 1966 olds 98 could pull the front wheels off the ground if you floored it and let off three times from a standing start.
HO 10.25:1 425 "Super Rocket", factory "anti-spin" differential, and stock, 78 series 14" wheels.

My first 66 Coronet 440 had poly 318, AC, and PW. I've never seen that combo since, and I've been looking.