• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Traffic "violator" school !

Kern Dog

Life is full of turns. Build your car to handle.
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
7:17 AM
Reaction score
Who here besides me has taken one of these courses?
The deal is that by taking the course, the ticket/citation you were issued will not be on your driving record with the DMV. It still shows up on your Police record but not on DMV, supposedly to keep your insurance rates from rising.
I've been guilty of driving fast....more than once.
I have followed too close. I have peeled out, smoked the tires, skidded to a stop...you know, guy stuff.
I have never broken a traffic law that resulted in any collision, injury or death.
I've been driving since 1982. Since 1992, I have worked some jobs 100 miles or more away from home. It is a conservative estimate to think that I have driven MORE than 1.5 million miles.
These courses used to be held ONLY in person. You had to be there for a total of 8 hours. Nowadays I imagine nobody does that, they just take a course online.
I did that yesterday.
I am happy to say that I did learn a few things. Care to guess what they are?

I finished the course in about 2 1/2 hours. It mostly covered situations pertaining to avoiding collisions.
That was a glaring observation: The word collision. The text repeatedly stated that the California DMV is trying to move way from the term accidents and concentrate on the word Collision. Their reasoning is that accidents are avoidable while collisions are not always so.
Huh? WTF are they thinking?

wait,traffic school is online now??
lol !
whats next,taking your drivers license road test in a simulator at the dmv??!!
or even worse,at home!